In-State Laterals:

Those applicants who are currently certified by the Alaska Police Standards Council, and have one year of full time experience at a full service law enforcement agency, will be considered for a lateral hire position with DPS. Pay is determined by how many years of similar service the applicant has prior to DPS hire. If the applicant has attended an Alaska Law Enforcement Training (ALET) academy in Sitka, they would likely not need to attend the full ALET academy again. The applicant would likely need to attend several weeks of AST specific training and then complete a full length, or abbreviated Field Training process. This determination is made on a case by case basis. Those lateral applicants who have attended just the UAF Tanana Valley Law Enforcement Academy must attend the ALET (as a lateral), after being hired by DPS. DPS realizes each Alaska certified police officer comes with unique experience, training and skills and will work with each applicant to assess the proper course training. DPS wants to be certain the lateral officers we hire are properly training, equipped and supported to be successful in the field.

Out-of- State Laterals:

Law enforcement in rural Alaska is different than most places in the “Lower 48”. Many officers from the Lower 48 have come to Alaska expecting a similar work environment and are often surprised they don’t have the necessary skills or training to be successful here. We want to ensure those lateral hires are trained and equipped to succeed and to use their past training and experience in a way that helps them thrive. Those applicants who are currently certified by their state’s police certification process (POST, etc.), and have one year of full time experience at a full service law enforcement agency, will be considered for a lateral position with DPS. Pay is determined by how many years of similar service the applicant has prior to DPS hire. DPS realizes that each certified police officer comes with unique experience, training and skills and will work with each applicant to assess the proper course of training. DPS wants to be certain the lateral officers we hire are properly training, equipped and supported to be successful in the field. DPS will, on a case by case basis, work with the Alaska Police Standards Council to determine if a candidate will need to attend our full Alaska Law Enforcement Training (ALET) academy in Sitka for 18 weeks or if an abbreviated training regimen will be approved. The successful applicant may need to complete field training for the entire process or a reduced time frame. We have had many lateral hires tell us, after they attended our full ALET academy, they were indeed not ready for the challenges of Alaska and were grateful for the opportunity to receive more training, all while being paid as a lateral state trooper hire.

The council may enter into reciprocity agreements with states that regulate or supervise the quality of police training and that require a minimum of 650 hours of classroom and practical training for police officers.

Alaska Administrative Code:

13 AAC 85.050. Basic police officer academy

13 AAC 85.060. Waiver and reciprocity