- Standard #1
- High School graduation or G.E.D. certificate.
- Standard #2
- U.S. citizenship or resident alien status demonstrating intent to become a citizen.
- Students must be at least 18 years of age, but the Alaska Police Standard Council will not issue a basic law enforcement certificate to individuals less than 21 years of age.
- Good moral character.
- Be free from physical defects that would adversely affect performance.
- Standard #3
- Students must have a valid drivers license.
- Note: entry into the A.L.E.T. program may be denied to any person who, because of past criminal or social behavior, might represent a risk of harm to other students or the general public.
Alaskan police agencies are prohibited from hiring as a police officer any person:
- Convicted of a felony.
- Convicted of a misdemeanor crime of dishonesty, morale turpitude, or other crime
resulting in serious physical injury to another within the preceding 10 years.
- Convicted of two or more driving while intoxicated offenses, within 10 years.
- Who has ever been denied or had certification revoked by the Alaska Police Standards
- Who has illegally transported, manufactured or sold a controlled substance, within
10 years. Or any person who has used marijuana within one year.
- Who falsely applies for certification, lies or omits information on the Alaska Police
Standards Council application.
For more details you may visit the Alaska Police Standards Council's police regulations.