Fire System Reports

All fire service companies providing services in the State of Alaska shall provide a legible copy of all fire system service reports within 30 days of completion to the closest State Fire Marshal Office or the deferred jurisdiction.

The Division of Fire and Life Safety has statewide jurisdiction for fire code enforcement and plan review authority except in the following communities which have received deferrals:

A copy of the acceptance test certificate verifying completion in accordance with N.F.P.A 72-2010, as adopted by reference, must be forwarded by the firm conducting the test to the state fire marshal or the deferred jurisdiction having authority within 30 days of the completion of the installation. (Reference 13 AAC 50.020)

Fire protection systems and fire extinguishers must be inspected, tested, and serviced as follows:

  1. Annually. Exception: Standpipe systems must be inspected, tested, and serviced every five years;
  2. After any use or activation;
  3. Any time damage is found;
  4. After repair or alteration;
  5. When required by the fire code official;
  6. After a seasonal shutdown.

Reports of inspections and tests must be maintained on the premises, and a copy of the acceptance test certificate must be forwarded to the fire code official by the person conducting the inspection or test within 30 days of the inspection or test being completed. (Reference 13 AAC 50.025)

To forward a copy of the report to the Division of Fire and Life Safety electronically click on the address below:

For further information please contact:

Amy Noket
5700 E. Tudor Road
Anchorage, Alaska 99507
Phone: (907) 269-5637
Fax: (907) 269-5018