Retail Firework Permit

Retail Firework Permits authorizes the sale of Class 1.4G fireworks.

To qualify for this permit, an individual must do the following:

  • submit a policy, or a certified true copy of a policy, of public liability and products liability insurance, including both accident and occurrence coverage, provided by the wholesale company selling fireworks to the person, in the amount of at least $200,000 for bodily injury or death and at least $50,000 property damage and the person is named as an insured party upon the policy and the policy is continuously in force while the person is engaged in the retail sale of fireworks and
  • pay the endorsement fee of $10 that is valid for two years or portions of two years during which the permit holder is engaged in the retail sale of fireworks and
  • submit a map of stand location; including construction and distance to any storage magazines or nearby buildings. The stand must be 250 feet from residential or public assembly buildings, and 150 feet from the centerline of ANY state highway. At least two exits must be provided, indicated on a drawing of the proposed stand. and
  • prominently display a placard on the retail stand setting out the language of AS 41.15.070, 41.15.140, and 41.15.160 and
  • conspicuously display the retail permit at the sales location and
  • abide by all applicable laws regarding the sale of Class 1.4G fireworks.

Salable fireworks, Class 1.4G (Class C common fireworks) must be stored as follows:

  • storage at retail sites must be in a type 4 or higher rated magazine;
  • except as provided in paragraph 3 of Subsection 3308.11.12, storage must be a minimum of 40 feet from property lines or any inhabited building. The dedicated structure or stand used for selling fireworks is excluded;
  • storage must be a minimum of 250 feet from a place of residence or public assembly building;
  • storage may not be located on a highway or utility right of way;
  • storage at any site except approved retail locations must be in accordance with the requirements for low explosives in Subsection 3304.3.2.

NOTE:

For storage of more than 5000 lbs. of explosive material, the minimum distance requirements from buildings and highways may be increased. Reference the International Fire Code Chapter 33 Section 3304.5.2 or contact the State Fire Marshals office.

Download the Retail Firework Permits application.


Alaska State Permitted Firework Retail Stands
Name of CompanyAddressCity
The Surf Mile 5 Kootznahoo Road Angoon
Smokin' Aces Fireworks Mile 5.2 Copper River Hwy Cordova
U-Pop-Em Fireworks Mile .5 Bingman's Lot Dillingham
Sourdough Joe's Fireworks Mile 115 Richardson Hwy Glennallen
Grey Van Fireworks Mile 7 Haines Hwy Haines
Wildfire Pyrotechnics Mile 27 Haines Hwy Haines
Northern Explosure, LLC Mile 30 Klawock-Hollis Hwy Hollis
Tina's Lodging Lot 3 Rock Quarry Subdivision Hoonah
Amy's Fireworks, LLC Mile 52.5 Parks Hwy Houston
Gorilla Fireworks Mile 52.7 Parks Hwy Houston
Gorilla Fireworks Mile 52.4 Parks Hwy Houston
TNT Fireworks of Alaska, LLC Mile 52.6 Parks Hwy Houston
JNT's Fireworks Boot Lake, Dump Road, Rock Pit 1 Kake
Boom City Fireworks Mile 6.5 Craig-Klawock Hwy Klawock
Les N' Dans Fireworks 4673 Rezanof Drive East Kodiak
Leader Creek Fireworks Mile 3 Leader Creek Naknek
Leo's Firework Stand Mile 0.5 E of the City (Council Hwy) Nome
Budget Fireworks 2310 Peridot Street North Pole
Gorilla Fireworks Mile 13 Richardson Highway North Pole
Patriots Pyro NE Corner of Richardson Hwy & Peridot St. North Pole
Santa's Fireworks, LLC 2710 Hurst Road North Pole
Curtiss Fireworks Mile 0.5 Off Mitkoff Hwy, Up Falls Creek/Three Lakes Loop Rd Petersburg
Thompson Pass Fireworks 144 East Egan Drive Valdez
Blaze of Glory Port Fill Wrangell

For further information please contact:

Amy Noket
5700 E. Tudor Road
Anchorage, Alaska 99507
Phone: (907) 269-5637
Fax: (907) 269-5018