Alaska Concealed Handgun

Alaska's laws do not prohibit anyone 21 or older who may legally possess a firearm from carrying it concealed. A special permit is not required.

Possession of a firearm, whether concealed or open, is restricted in some circumstances and locations. Click the "In Alaska" link for expanded information.

Alaska's laws do not apply to other states. Alaska residents may obtain a concealed carry permit if they want to travel to other states with which Alaska has reciprocity agreements. Click the "Outside of Alaska" link for expanded information.

The Federal Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives has reaffirmed that valid Alaska Concealed Handgun Permits (ACHPs) marked "NICS Exempt" qualify as alternatives to the NICS background check required by the Brady Act when FFLs transfer a firearm to an unlicensed person. The Alaska Department of Public Safety has begun issuing permits with the "NICS Exempt" annotation.

An initial or renewal applicant for an ACHP who wishes to have their permit marked "NICS Exempt" must complete and sign the NICS EXEMPT CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT SUPPLEMENT (form 12-299-89) along with their initial or renewal application and supporting material.

The holder of an existing valid permit that becomes lost, stolen, or destroyed may request a replacement permit. To have the "NICS Exempt" notation on the replacement permit, the permit holder must complete and sign the NICS EXEMPT CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT SUPPLEMENT (form 12-299-89) along with the request for replacement (form 12-299-85), the $25 replacement fee, and a photograph taken within the last 30 days. The replacement application must be presented in person to an office of the Alaska State Troopers.

The department must give priority to first-time applicants in accordance with AS 18.65.700(b) and to expiring permit holders seeking to renew their permits. Replacement requests will be processed as quickly as possible but can only be done after other priorities are met. Existing permit holders who are expiring shortly will probably save time and expense by simply waiting until the time to renew their permit to get the "NICS Exempt" notation added.

Concealed Handguns Resources

Forms

All forms have been revised as of 08/25/2010 and may be completed online or printed out and completed by hand. Forms completed online must still be printed out for an original signature and submitted in hardcopy. Forms cannot be submitted electronically at this time.

For more information contact the Permits and Licensing Unit