Standards

Entrance Requirements

  • Standard #1
    • High School graduation or G.E.D. certificate.
  • Standard #2
    • U.S. citizenship or resident alien status demonstrating intent to become a citizen.
    • Students must be at least 18 years of age, but the Alaska Police Standard Council will not issue a basic law enforcement certificate to individuals less than 21 years of age.
    • Good moral character.
    • Be free from physical defects that would adversely affect performance.
  • Standard #3
    • Students must have a valid drivers license.
  • Note: entry into the A.L.E.T. program may be denied to any person who, because of past criminal or social behavior, might represent a risk of harm to other students or the general public.

Alaskan police agencies are prohibited from hiring as a police officer any person:

  1. Convicted of a felony.
  2. Convicted of a misdemeanor crime of dishonesty, morale turpitude, or other crime resulting in serious physical injury to another within the preceding 10 years.
  3. Convicted of two or more driving while intoxicated offenses, within 10 years.
  4. Who has ever been denied or had certification revoked by the Alaska Police Standards Council.
  5. Who has illegally transported, manufactured or sold a controlled substance, within 10 years. Or any person who has used marijuana within one year.
  6. Who falsely applies for certification, lies or omits information on the Alaska Police Standards Council application.

For more details you may visit the Alaska Police Standards Council's police regulations.